Raquel Maulwurf, Jan Wattjes
“Inside Outside” Swap Berlin – Den Haag
September 2016

Raquel Maulwurf, Jan Wattjes – Inside Outside – Swap Berlin – Den Haag
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande und in Kooperation mit Livingstone Gallery Den Haag/Supported by The Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands and in cooperation with Livingstone Gallery The Hague

10. September – 15. Oktober 2016/September 10 – October 15, 2016

Vernissage/Private View: Freitag, 9.September 2016, 19-21 Uhr

ck_einladung_Titelbild_Insi

Raquel Maulwurf, Moving Nightscape VII, 2016, Kohle, Pastell auf Museumskarton/
charcoal, pastel on museum board, 152 x 264 cm

Jan_Wattjes_Akcini_Amsterdam_2016_oil_on_canvas_150_x_200_cm
Jan Wattjes, Akcini Amsterdam, 2016, Öl auf Leinwand/oil on canvas, 150 x 200 cm
« 1 of 12 »

Info

“Inside Outside”, with Netherlands-based Raquel Maulwurf and Jan Wattjes, in collaboration with Livingstone Gallery, The Hague, kicks off a regular exchange project. We would like to direct attention to emerging artists of our neighbouring country. Jan Wattjes has been nominated for the Royal Award for Modern Painting: his work will be exhibited with all the nominated artists in October 2016 at the Royal Palace in Amsterdam. In November 2016 Livingstone Gallery will feature two artists from our programme: Nadja Schöllhammer and Roger Wardin.

Raquel Maulwurf (born 1975 in Madrid, Spain) lives and works in Amsterdam. She has made a name for herself with her large-scale charcoal drawings. She studied at the Art Academy of Arnhem. Her work is included in numerous international collections including the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, Stedelijk Museum Schiedam and Teylers Museum in Haarlem. In 2017 Raquel will have a solo exhibition at the Gemeentemuseum The Hague. In 2011 she had a fellowship at the prestigious International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP) in New York. Apart from an exhibition at a gallery in Cologne, “Inside Outside” will be her first solo exhibition in Germany. Working exclusively in black-and-white, Raquel has created her signature artistic style with charcoal and pastel on thick museum board. The board‘s thickness allows her to scratch the surface with sandpaper and utility knives until the paper pulp almost pours out. Using this particular method she creates impressions between beauty and violence. Her first drawings encompassed the topic of the Second World War, burning forests and atomic bombs. Maulwurf’s new works, made especially for the exhibition in Berlin, show landscapes, nightscapes and seascapes with turbulent oceans and seething clouds. Her interest lies not in the beauty of the landscapes, but in the dark side of nature, the threat of environmental destruction and the influence of civilization.

Jan Wattjes lives and works in The Hague where he was born in 1981. He studied there at the Academy of Fine Arts and at the Frank Mohr Institute in Groningen, The Netherlands. He has received numerous awards and fellowships, a.o. from the Mondriaan Fund in 2013 and 2016. “Inside Outside” will be his first solo exhibition in Germany. In his paintings, often supplemented by video and installation, he deals primarily with the issue of the artist and his surroundings. Thus, his first series of works shows artists’ studios, renowned colleagues, who he calls his artistic family, and the Mobile Studio. In recent work, he has turned to the galleries and initially painted actual international galleries from the outside within their urban space. In his latest work, which will be shown at the exhibition in Berlin, he focuses on the facades and interiors of these international galleries. Reminiscent of Mondriaan in their abstract implementation, these works are reduced to the minimum. Wattjes records the intermediate state of the gallery, the white cube, between two exhibitions. Overall, he reflects on the conditions and characteristics of artistic existence, the identity of an artist and the possibilities for a young artist to position himself in the art market.

Supported by The Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

PresseEcho

Biographies by request

Raquel Maulwurf, Jan Wattjes
„Inside Outside“ Swap Berlin – Den Haag
September 2016

Raquel Maulwurf, Jan Wattjes – Inside Outside – Swap Berlin – Den Haag
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande und in Kooperation mit Livingstone Gallery Den Haag/Supported by The Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands and in cooperation with Livingstone Gallery The Hague

10. September – 15. Oktober 2016/September 10 – October 15, 2016

Vernissage/Private View: Freitag, 9.September 2016, 19-21 Uhr

ck_einladung_Titelbild_Insi

Raquel Maulwurf, Moving Nightscape VII, 2016, Kohle, Pastell auf Museumskarton/
charcoal, pastel on museum board, 152 x 264 cm

Jan_Wattjes_Akcini_Amsterdam_2016_oil_on_canvas_150_x_200_cm
Jan Wattjes, Akcini Amsterdam, 2016, Öl auf Leinwand/oil on canvas, 150 x 200 cm
« 1 von 12 »

Info

„Inside Outside“ mit den in den Niederlanden lebenden und arbeitenden Künstlern Raquel Maulwurf und Jan Wattjes ist der Auftakt zu einem regelmäßigen Ausstellungstausch mit der Den Haager Livingstone Gallery. Wir möchten kontinuierlich gegenseitig das Interesse auf arrivierende Künstler des Nachbarlandes lenken. Jan Wattjes ist z. B. für den „Royal Award for Modern Painting“ vorgeschlagen und wird mit den nominierten Künstlern im Oktober 2016 im Königlichen Palast in Amsterdam ausstellen. Im November 2016 wird die Livingstone Gallery die Künstler Nadja Schöllhammer und Roger Wardin aus unserem Programm in Den Haag präsentieren.

Raquel Maulwurf (geb. 1975 in Madrid) lebt und arbeitet in Amsterdam und ist in den Niederlanden mit ihren großformatigen Kohlezeichnungen bereits sehr erfolgreich. Sie studierte an der HKA Art Academy in Arnheim/NL, ihre Arbeiten befinden sich u. a. in den Sammlungen des Rijksmuseums Amsterdam, Teylers Museum Haarlem und Stedelijk Museum Schiedam. In 2017 wird eine Einzelausstellung im Gemeentemuseum Den Haag stattfinden. 2011 war sie Stipendiatin des renommierten International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP) in New York. Neben einer Galerieausstellung in Köln wird dies die erste Einzelausstellung in Deutschland sein. Die Künstlerin arbeitet ausschließlich in schwarz-weiß und hat eine eigenwillige Handschrift aus Kohle, Pastell auf Museumskarton entwickelt. Die aufgetragene Oberfläche kratzt sie mit Sandpapier und Messern auf und schafft so Eindrücke zwischen Schönheit und Zerstörung. Ihre ersten Arbeiten kreisten um das Thema des 2. Weltkrieges, brennende Wälder und Atombomben. In den aktuellen Arbeiten, die exklusiv für die Ausstellung in Berlin entstanden sind, beschäftigt sie sich mit Landschaften, tobenden Ozeanen und brodelnden Wolkenformationen. Ihr geht es jedoch nicht vordergründig um die schöne Landschaft, sondern um die dunkle Seite der Natur und ihre Bedrohung durch Umweltzerstörung und zivilisatorische Einflüsse.

Jan Wattjes (geb. 1981 in Den Haag) lebt und arbeitet in Den Haag, er studierte dort an der Royal Academy of Fine Arts und am Frank Mohr Institute in Groningen. Er erhielt einige niederländische Preise und Stipendien, u. a. 2013 und 2016 von der Mondriaan Stiftung. Für den Maler Wattjes ist es die erste Ausstellung in Deutschland. In seiner Malerei, häufig auch ergänzt durch Video und Installation, beschäftigt er sich vornehmlich mit dem Thema des Künstlers und seiner Umgebung. So bezog sich das Thema seiner ersten Werkreihe auf Künstlerateliers, renommierte Kollegen und Angehörige aus Künstlerfamilien. In den jüngsten Arbeiten hat er sich den Galerien zugewendet und malte zunächst real existierende internationale Galerien von außen innerhalb ihres urbanen Raumes. In seinen aktuellsten Arbeiten, die wir in der Ausstellung in Berlin zeigen werden, fokussiert er sich auf die Fassaden und Interieurs internationaler Galerien. Diese Arbeiten sind sehr reduziert und erinnern in ihrer abstrakten Umsetzung an Mondriaan, der White Cube der Galerie zwischen zwei Ausstellungen ist ein Zwischenzustand, den er eher imaginär bespielt. Insgesamt reflektiert er die Bedingungen und Besonderheiten des Künstlerdaseins, der Identität eines Künstlers und die Möglichkeiten eines jungen Künstlers, sich im Kunstmarkt zu verankern.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande.

PresseEcho

Biografien auf Anfrage